The Secret W…tf?!

I must admit, when I first heard about The Secret World, it ticked all my boxes.

Let me explain a little further. I was brought up on table-top rpg. I ran Cthulhu for a bit – I even volunteered my services as a gamesmaster in the Student Nationals this year after a rather long sabbatical. Yeah, I know, I’m not technically a student, but I’m friends with members of the Uni role-playing teams our way, and they wanted some help. It was hard work and it was fun. A lot of fun.

For those of you unfamiliar with Cthulhu, it’s a game without levels. Instead you have skill points and percentages and they don’t increase that dramatically. It’s a nifty system, and it’s a fun system. And I like it.

Oh, and I’m ever so slightly into the occult in real life. Myths and legends, mythology, magic. I’ve once played in a game of Cthulhu where the gamesmaster handed us a list of books only to burst out laughing, as we actually had a couple of them in our library. No, not the Necronomicon….

So wheee! If ever there was a game I wanted to play, this was it.

I signed up to the newsletters, read around it, joined the Facebook page, and then …bam! They hit us with The Secret War. And that’s where I stopped, read what they expected and stuck my feet into the ground. So…you do well by recruiting a load of friends from Facebook and move things around on a map. The map bit wasn’t a problem.

Recruiting friends on Facebook was.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve got a lot of them. Plenty enough to do this. They’re also friends and I respect them. No bloody way am I going to spam them with requests. I hate that when people do it to me, or when they drag me into a group which goes against all my opinions without my permission. Yes, people have done that. I’ve extracted myself from groups talking about how dogs shouldn’t be allowed to be walked in public places, and the last one I left had something to do with mammary glands of a religious nature – best not to ask…

Suddenly I slumped from being excited about this game to thinking how cheap it was of them to force their potential customers into doing the marketing for them. I didn’t like that they were trying to bribe me with the “chance” of winning beta access by pimping my friends into what sounded like a cheap flash game, only suitable for the likes of Facebook.

Maybe if they decide to have free sample weekends I’ll try it. But until then, I’ve put my eagerness to investigate the occult in the virtual world on hold.

For now, I shall retreat to my library and be satisfied with the tomes therein. I’m certain I can stir up some nefarious occult dealings from there. Who needs pixels anyway?  Now…how does it go…?

Ph’nglui mglw’nafh Cthulhu R’lyeh wgah’nagl fhtagn…..

 

 

 

 

One Response to The Secret W…tf?!

  1. Yeah, the facebook part of it wasn’t exactly awesome, but I think a number of people got around it by inviting their own faction members through the forums. Then you didn’t have to make any posts to your wall at all and still had all the people you needed as “agents” to send out to take over countries and get points.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

