Get the balance right!

I really don’t know what to think.

The druid class preview is out, and I’m trying to get my head around how it’s going to affect my resto/boomkin. The most obvious issue is with the change to the Tree form. Admittedly I’ve griped about the look of the thing, and that it would be pleasant to have different tree forms, but oddly I’ve become quite fond of the ugly old tree form. More on this later though. I have a minor gripe about the whole change of eclipse mechanic.

I’m as bad as the rest of them, I constantly grizzle about the fact that my eclipse procs at the end of the battle or just as I have to run manically about for 20 seconds etc….But there’s also an excitement to it, a little “Oooh! A proc!” and that burst of trying to use it. I actually enjoy that. While I can appreciate the potential for more zap, a little bit of me will mourn the loss of scrabbling to use an eclipse to its best.

Oh, and while we’re on the subject of Balance,  there’s the whole Mushroom Grenade Thing. I mean….how’s anyone going to take a self-respecting Boomkin seriously when they’re flinging fungi around in fights?! Come on guys, we channel the Forces of Nature, we use starlight, the forces of storms, nature at its best….we’re not a bunch of greengrocers getting rid of manky stock, you know! I mean….honestly…..MUSHROOMS? What’s the enemy going to do, stop and make mushroom strognanoff?

(Okay, I’ll admit that otherwise it’s a seriously hot and dangerous sounding ability, I’m just sore about the indignity of having to pelt things with ‘shrooms!)

Okay, now back to Tree stuff.

All heal-over-time spells (HoTs) will benefit from crit and haste innately in Cataclysm. Hasted HoTs do not reduce their duration, but instead add additional HoT ticks.

This I like. It seems that they’re trying to increase our capability to heal. However I’m a bit concerned that they may make our healing over powerful, the last thing I want to play is an over-powered class, I like a bit of challenge to what I do.

Druids will lose Abolish Poison with the dispel mechanics change, but Restoration druids will gain Dispel Magic (on friendly targets) as a talent. All druids can still remove poisons with Cure Poison and remove curses with Remove Curse.

Okay…..this I’m a little sad about. I like the idea of being able to dispel magic, but I love being able to slap an Abolish on, and know I don’t have to worry about it for a few moments, while I slap an Abolish on another target. In some fights, that Abolish was a lifesaver.

God, I’m a grumpy tree this morning! I’m not really that negative about these changes, honestly! But I’ve not overlooked the fact that we get pretty, pretty flowers growing under the feet of those we heal. Cute!

Now…the killer.

Tree of Life is changing from a passive talent to a cooldown-based talent, similar to Metamorphosis. Mechanically, it feels unfair for a druid to have to give up so much offense and utility in order to be just as good at healing as the other classes who are not asked to make that trade. We are exploring the exact benefit the druid gets from Tree of Life. It could strictly be better healing, or it could be that each heal behaves slightly different. You also will not be able to be banished in Tree of Life form (this will probably be true of Metamorphosis as well). Additionally, we would like to update the Tree of Life model so that it feels more exciting when you do decide to go into that form. Our feeling is that druids rarely actually get to show off their armor, so it would be nice to have at least one spec that looked like a night elf or tauren (and soon troll or worgen) for most of the time.

I’m one of the few players who seems to like my Nelf form, although I’m now quite fond of my tree too. So I sort of like this aspect, but I know this will irk all those who love their tree form. And judging by the reactions already, there’s a LOT of Tree lovers. I can see what they want to do, but I’m wondering exactly how it’s going to impact on the utility. I’m a little bit nervous that I may end up having to respec to two pure resto specs to gain maximum benefit from this. And quite honestly although I’m more a healer at heart, I like being able to switch swiftly if we need that extra punch of dps. Right now I’m versatile.

And ahem….druids showing off our armour?! I’ve just gone from uber hot cleavage and corsetry to a high necked turd coloured insipid thing that makes me cringe. What on earth makes you think I’d want to show THAT off?!

Don’t get me wrong. I like change and I’ll be intrigued to see how these all work out, and I’ll not condemn it properly until I’ve tried it. New stuff to work out, and a sort of balance reset for all those who’ve been playing for ever and those of us who are newer to the game. We’ll all be relearning together. That I like.

It’s just the mushrooms. Honestly.

2 Responses to Get the balance right!

  1. Rem says:

    The new Eclipse sounds a lot like inverse rune-keeper attunement to me. And while it admittedly takes away the “oooh, proc!” factor, it gives you so much control in return. “Reading” the fight and using prediction and intuition to align the deflection of Eclipse with phases, events, movement, cooldowns and Heroism has the potential to make Balance the most skill based DPS spec in the game. Sky’s the limit!

    Me, I’m looking forward to be able to see my favourite druid more often, even though I quite liked the tree form. Can’t see why dual-resto would become necessary, or any more “necessary” than it is now. Pretty sure you’ll be resto/balance just as you are now!

    Also, make sure to have a look at the follow-up blue posts in http://blue.mmo-champion.com/t/24262387043/cataclysm-class-preview-druid/

  2. nowiamtree says:

    Oh god, RK attunement, yes, I remember it well! Oh, I’m not dissing this at all, I’ll be curious to see how it feels and works – and I will welcome the control. We may well see the return of Boomkin as a respected and viable option, as opposed to a number of people thinking it’s there for the buff, thanks.

    Reason I think that dual resto may be necessary is that despite having no extra spells, they’re seriously opening up the healing for us with the improvements. I can foresee a point where the healing will become quite specific.

    And *smiles* I was pretty certain you’d be happier about seeing Nelfy form more often!

Leave a Reply

