It’s a vicious circle and I don’t want to be bitten!

Some of the communities that I regularly watch are complaining about the frequency with which they meet…*looks for an appropriate word, and doesn’t find one so settles for*…..plonkers. The sort that say “You don’t need mana” to the healer, the tanks that pull the entire instance while saying “Loll2pnub, you don’t need CC” and yada yada yada so on and so forth. I think we all know the sort that I mean.

One poster commented that there seems to be a lot of these plonkers out there, more than usual. And I sort of had a flash of insight.

These heroics are hard. But that’s not merely the issue. They require work. Ghostcrawler’s fantastic post  the other day summed it up beautifully for me – I almost cheered when I read it. But there are some people are not happy that they have to WORK at things for a change.

Ultimately, we don’t want to give undergeared or unorganized groups a near guaranteed chance of success, because then the content will feel absolutely trivial for players in appropriate gear who communicate, cooperate, and strategize.

But there are folk out there who think they are still deserving of it . The one which flabbergasted me recently was someone who doesn’t like that they can no longer Save The Day (TM), but is instead pissed off that that it all boils down to teamwork of a group now and they have to rely on  OMG FOUR OTHER PEOPLE. Yes, seriously, it’s muchly paraphrased, but I’ve read this amid all the other gripes.

And endless horror stories about Bad Pugs.

Endless, I tell you!

And then, when I was reading another YAHSaBP (Yet Another Story About Bad Pugs) and someone asking if there seemed to be more rude assholes around in the LFD system, that that flash of insight struck me.

There’s a number of us out there, who can and do play well, who respect the team members, but aren’t going to put ourselves on the firing line in a PUG. Because a) we don’t know what we’re going to get, and you need a decent team to run a successful heroic and b) there’s a number of people out there who’ve been reading all these YASABP, and these all lead to strengthening that initial OMG, don’t pug it’s going to be horrible argh reaction.

Each of those stories is going to put yet another person off, someone who’s likely to be respectful, and pleasant, friendly and a good player who just doesn’t want the hassle of having to go through a Horror Story Pug of their own. Thus removing them from the potential pool of good and fun players who will Pug right now.  And thus concentrating the ick factor for the next person, as there are indeed not more assholes, just less nice players.

It’s a vicious circle.

And while I admit that the best solution would be get myself a pair, and go out there and repopulate the pool with one more pleasant pug resto druid, long and short is, that I’m still too much of a coward.

Less frightening bedtime PUG stories, please? It’s frightening the children……

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to It’s a vicious circle and I don’t want to be bitten!

  1. Pilfkin says:

    I’ve said it before but I’m happy to repeat it ad infinitum, ad nauseaum: I stopped PuGing in Wrath when it turned into a gogogo fest and I really didn’t want epics enough to whore (sorry, strong word but that’s how I feel about it) myself out for them. I don’t want to game with a bunch of individuals who couldn’t pronounce altruism, nevermind define it. I found it especially hard, having played for a while on RP servers, where, in my experience, people are just… well, politer and have a better grasp of manners and spelling and a group ethos. When they give me an option, in LFG, to group ONLY with players from other RP realms I MIGHT get back on board with it. I appreciate that not everyone feels this way so a tick box is fine. And I’m happy to wait a lot longer for a group.

    *breathes*

    That said, I know that there are delightful, polite and witty players who PuG. Back in the BC days I met someone the an old-style LFG channel and ended up joining their guild and raiding happily and successfully through the end of BC and Wrath on the strength of a successful run (maybe through Shadow Labs!) because that’s how nice they were in a PuG! I do take your point about the horror stories, though, and I think it’s a good point and well made. Ultimately, though, I’m not willing to run the risk of having 2+ hours of my downtime (i.e. my game time) ruined by some unpleasant folks, and, at present, it seems to me like this risk of that happening is higher than the chances of a successful (defined by getting there eventually, with politeness and cooperation, NOT by one shotting everything) run.

    • nowiamtree says:

      I hear you! I’ve done VERY little PuGing myself to be honest, and certainly none in Cata mostly because I simply don’t fancy the idea, and we’ve had enough people about. And to be completely honest, I’m the sort of person who will get one bad pug and it will knock my self-confidence levels into last year. So I don’t tend to take the risk. Plus, as you say, it’s a lot of downtime to lose. Which is all very well if you’ve got a great group, but throw just one plonker in it and the “fun” starts. It’s why I admit freely that I’m not able to help break the cycle myself. One day, maybe….!

      • Pilfkin says:

        “I’m the sort of person who will get one bad pug and it will knock my self-confidence levels into last year.”

        Yes and me! The last PuG I did – back in Wrath – had that effect on me, and that was a run with only one ‘random’ person and the rest were divine guildies. I’m levelling a multitude of alts and I wish with all my heart that I could bear LFG – especially on my belf who I’m grinding Forsaken rep with… but I just can’t. It’s quite saddening actually.

  2. Sven says:

    Good point. I fear I’m guilty of this myself (the clue is in the blog name), but you’re right to say that it’s a self-reinforcing problem.

    I’m not sure what the way out of it is – the two options that appeal to me are:
    1) Allow people to select “my server only” for DF PUGs, so that personal reputation plays more of a part.

    2) Allow people to rate other PUGers as in eBay. This is vulnerable to malicious comments, as are other such systems, but it would probably work in the end. The problem is with the way it makes it hard for people to learn – they may start off bad, but if they get marked down because of that to begin with, they may get rejected at a later date. Perhaps a minimum number of PUGS would be needed before the scoring counts.

    • nowiamtree says:

      It’s a tricky one, isn’t it! Maybe we should set up a blogland player of the year award for the best PUGer and try to encourage good behaviour?!

      I’m sort of with suggestion number 2 here – although if we had an option to not have to group with people we’ve grouped with before who have been utter idiots, then that would actually cut out some of the problem too.

      • Pilfkin says:

        I would suggest (possibly incorrectly) that you won’t get grouped with someone who is on your ignore list. At least I think that’s the case…

      • nowiamtree says:

        Pilfkin, I think you’re right there – I did get shaken up when I joined a battleground group for an achievement and couldn’t seem to put someone on ignore there, from what I’ve gathered that’s a sometimes works, sometimes doesn’t thing.

  3. Saga says:

    I have to admit.. I haven’t done much PUGing at all this expansion. The aspect of it terrifies me. I was never much of a PUG person to begin with though, I always enjoy playing with friends more than random people, even if it means waiting for them to come online.

    Sometimes we’re 1-2 people short though and we’ll still use the LFD to do our instance. The people we’ve gotten have ranged from terribad to really good. And it’s definitely worth it. I’d not skip my HC to avoid a PUG, but I haven’t dared to go alone into it either (also due to having no patience to wait 30 minutes as a dps).

    • nowiamtree says:

      I hear you there – I’m not much of a PUG person myself. I did sign up now and again in Wrath, to test my healing capabilities, but now….well, the teamwork required is vital, and I really don’t think I can cope with someone hassling me about failhealing, even though I know I’m not that bad.

Leave a Reply

