Saga’s latest Challenge. Day One. Introduce Yourself.

Hmmm.

Where to start? Okay, at the beginning. I was born and raised in Wales. I’ve never lived anywhere else. Despite the constant rain, limited jobs and lower wages, there’s something about the place that’s in my blood. We have beautiful beaches, beautiful castles, wilds and mountains, Penderyn whisky, Welsh lamb and Dr Who. What more do you want?!

Although I graduated in Biology many years ago, I never followed it through. I took the course because it was what fascinated me. But it does mean I’ve experience in maintaining insect colonies and can sex a housefly!  I’m currently considering some major changes in direction after being made redundant from an editorial research and admin job. Will have to see how that goes….

I’ve gamed and table-top role-played for way too many years than I care to mention, and spent far too many weekends in the dim and distant past running round woods in silly costumes hitting people with latex swords. Paintball hurt too much, and laser tag was a bit pricey….These were excellent times, and have left me with yearnings to wear far more fancy dress costume than is normal, a warped imagination from writing and running too many campaigns, and a goodly number of adventures. I’d also like to think it’s left me with the ability to survive a zombie apocalypse.

I got sucked into WoW after a couple of years in LotRO, and haven’t looked back since. (It’s drier than larping, and you bruise less.)

I’ve been happily married to Colt for just over 10 years, and he is eternally grateful that I am as addicted to gaming as he. We have three evil cats, a huge collection of books of all sorts including the sequential art of Neil Gaiman and Alan Moore and a strong appreciation of The Hitchhiker’s Guide and The Princess Bride. We both adore food far too much, and I love cooking even more (which Colt highly encourages). There’s a kind of magic to it. I have even been known to comfort bake.

When I’m not playing online or being busy in the kitchen, you might find me bellydancing (I once danced on stage with a tray of lit tea-lights on my head), wandering around castles, or beaches, and gazing yearningly at shoes and high end chocolate.

One more thing, possibly the most integral part of what makes me me……a quote from Don Juan DeMarco, a truly beautiful film. It’s perhaps one of the loveliest quotes I ever stumbled across. And I try to live by it.

There are only four questions of value in life. What is sacred? Of what is the spirit made? What is worth living for, and what is worth dying for? The answer to each is the same: only love.

6 Responses to Saga’s latest Challenge. Day One. Introduce Yourself.

  1. Pilfkin says:

    That’s a stunning introduction and you have excellent taste in hobbies!

    That quote is truly, astonishingly beautiful, and having just read it to Himself we might steal it – we’ve been trying, without success, to find readings for our civil wedding. Hope you wouldn’t mind?

    • Alq says:

      Why, thank you! And no, I wouldn’t mind at all – I love the quote so much, it’s too good to go unnoticed, and is perfect for a wedding. Have you seen the film itself?

  2. Pilfkin says:

    Heh – it’s now on our Love Film list. Himself thinks that the *only* reason I want to see it is Johnny Depp. Which is… partially true. It looks lovely though (from the trailer at least.)

    • Alq says:

      You too?! The hubby once spent months buying up as many Depp films as he could for me on Amazon for a birthday present.

      It is lovely. Very gentle, but deep too. I love the development of the characters throughout.

  3. Val says:

    That quote is absolutely lovely. I also love this challenge because you get to know all the interesting people behind the characters 😀

    • Alq says:

      Yes – me too! It’s the details that make it – and us. I love reading about us all, the differences, similarities.

      And yes. That quote inevitably gets to me every time I read it.

Leave a Reply

